Ben Owen Memorial results – 20th June

Yesterday DPCC hosted the Ben Owen Memorial Trophy competition on a lovely (not raining) evening in the Oxfordshire countryside.

The Ben Owen has been a regular staple of the club’s events since 1989 and is run in memory of a former club member who sadly passed away and the proceeds from the event are donated to charity

This team competition takes the best four solo 10 mile time trial times from teams of five riders.

In all 16 teams from 7 local clubs took part on very nearly the longest day of the year. The late sunset allowed 80 riders to take the start in Stadhampton, race to the outskirts of Watlinton and the turning to complete the 10 mile course at Chalgrove.

The contest was keenly fought with some impressive times put in. There were some notable solo rides with Matt Alder (Fairly United) posting the fastest time in 20m27s followed by Henry Latimer (20m54s) and Richard Gildea (20m55s) from the host club (1 second!!!).

Emily McLoughlin (DPCC, 24m37s) fought it out with Claire Emons (Newbury RC, 24m46s) with Jennifer Magill (RCC) and Aimee Jones (Condors) in third and fourth.

But this was the side show for the main team competition.

The combined efforts of Martin Stanley, Harri James, Richard Gildea and Henry Latimer saw them post an aggregate time of 1h26m35s for first place. Bicester Millennium A Team came 2nd with 1h30m53s and Cowley Road Condors took third in 1h32m29s.

Cowely Road Condors Women continue to show their strength and depth and commitment to developing their racers and retain the trophy (1h43m49s) followed by Reading CC in 2nd and DPCC in Third.

The trophies were presented by Mr Owen at the HQ in Chalgove.

We would like to thank all the riders and teams, organisers and helpers who helped us commemorate the 30th Anniversary of the Ben Owen trophy in an event which has such a unique atmosphere


Ben Owen Memorial TT - 2019 Results