All posts by TrophySecretary

Ben Owen Memorial inter club TT

Cowley Road Condor CC women retain the trophy for 2018, with DPCC men taking the honours in the scratch event. Thanks to all participants, volunteers and especially to Chris Owen for presenting the trophies and to Ron Smith for organising the annual inter club TT. See you next year!

2018 - Ben Owen memorial TT

Individual results here

Team Standings
DPCC Men-A 1:28:37
FUCT Men-1 1:29:49
Cowley Rd Condors Men 1:29:51
BMCC Men-A 1:31:17
Mickey Cranks CC Men 1:33:06
Newbury RC Team 1 1:34:17
DPCC Men-B 1:35:02
Banbury Star CC Men-A 1:35:49
BMCC Men-B 1:42:17
Cowley Rd Condors Ladies 1:45:23
Newbury RC Team 2 1:45:54
MCCC Crankettes 1:46:04
Banbury Star CC Men-B 1:46:16
OTCC Men 1:46:31
BMCC Women 1:49:39
Abingdon Race Team Ladies 1:52:54

DPCC Open 25 mile TT – Sunday 10th June

National record holder Marcin Bialoblocki smashed the course record to win the Didcot Phoenix CC 25-mile time trial on the H25/17 course on the A420 between Cumnor and Faringdon in Oxfordshire.

His time of 45:49 gave him a winning margin of more than three minutes over second-placed rider Tim Cartwright of Newbury RC (49:08), with Chris Boddy close behind to take the final podium spot (49:20).

First woman was Suzy Patience of Banbury Star CC with a time of 1:02:34, while Deborah Davidson (Mickey Cranks) took second place with a time of 1:03:40 and Cyndi Goh (Oxford University CC) third in 1:04:11.

Gregory Woodford (+16:51) was fastest veteran on standard, with Rob West (+14:57) in second place, ahead of Danny Axford (+14:36) in third place.

The team prize was won by Didcot Phoenix CC (Chris Boddy, Richard Gildea and Martin Stanley), with a combined time of 2:36:10. Matthew Ridley (Oxford University CC) was the winner of the prize for being “closest to the hour, without breaking it”, with a time of 1:00:19.

The H25/17 course starts near Cumnor, and heads along the A420 through Kingston Bagpuize to Faringdon before turning around and retracing.

Thanks to Harri James for organising a well run and attended event.

2018 - DPCC Open 25


1. Marcin Bialoblocki (NoPinz) 45.49
2. Tim Cartwright (Newbury RC) 49.08
3. Chris Boddy (Didcot Phoenix CC) 49.20

1. Suzy Patience (Banbury Star Cyclists’ Club) 1:02.34
2. Deborah Davidson (Mickey Cranks Cycling Club) 1:03.40
3. Cyndi Goh (Oxford University CC) 1:04.11

1. Gregory Woodford (Reading CC) +16.51 (52.43)
2. Robert West (AeroCoach) +14.57 (51.42)
3. Danny Axford (Arctic Tacx RT) +14.36 (52.03)

Didcot Phoenix CC (Chris Boddy, Richard Gildea, Martin Stanley) 2:36.10

Closest to the Hour, without breaking it: Matthew Ridley (Oxford Univ CC) 1:00.19

Full results here

Weekend round-up

UCI Tour of Cambridge
Alison Vessey made it onto the podium twice over the weekend. Intially picking up 3rd place in the Chrono on Saturday 2nd, and then placing 1st in the road race on Sunday 3rd for her age category. Steve Dunton also picked up 2nd place on Sunday in the road race for his age cat. Congratulations to Alison, Steve, and to Rob Vessey for riding both events. Am sure we all look forward to seeing Alison’s rainbow bands parading on South Oxfordshire roads.
2018 - UCI tour of Cambridge

25 mile time trial records
The club 25 mile TT record was broken on Sunday 3rd June, not once, but Twice! Congratulations to Richard Gildea first for initially knocking it down to 47m34s and then to Chris Boddy for taking it down another notch to 46m00s. Rich was 4th overall and Chris joint 1st in the event on the R25/3H course in Wales.
Fantastic conditions and superb rides both!
Club 25 mile TT record holders Richard Gildea 47m34s Chris Boddy 46m00s

Fairmile TT Results – Thursday 31st May

A massive thanks to the hardy TT helpers on what turned out to be a wet night on the Fairmile CC241 course.
The TT started dry but very quickly turned wet after the first mile out of Cholsey and onto the Wallngford by-pass.
Tom Burney (Thames Velo) recorded 23m09s for 1st with clubmen Martin Stanley 2nd just 4 seconds back and Sam Boulton 3rd.

Next week sees us return to Southmoor for the Club 10 mile Championships on the H10/17r course, first rider off at 19:31. We still need a start timekeeper, and pusher please email to volunteer.