Category Archives: Time Trials

2017 – Ben Owen Memorial TT Results

Thanks to all supporters, riders, timekeepers, marshals and particularly to Ron Smith for organising and to Christopher Owen for presenting the awards on the Evening.

Provisional Results (full results coming soon):

Ben Owen Memorial Trophy
1Fairly United CT - 11h 28m 32s
2Didcot Phoenix CC - 11h 28m 46s
3Newbury RC - 11h 29m 47s
Ben Owen Womens Trophy
1Cowley Road Condors CC1h 40m 16s
2Outdoor Traders CC1h 47m 52s
3Bicester Millennium CC1h 47m 56s
Fastest Men
1Tim Cartwright (NRC)20m 28s
2Chris Boddy (DPCC)21m 15s
3Mark Cox (FUCT)21m 20s
Fastest Women
1Katie Greves (CRCCC)23m 14s
2Michelle Lee (BMCC)24m 12s
3Aimee Jones (CRCCC)24m 44s

2017 - Ben Owen Memorial TT


A lovely sunny evening saw 23 riders turn out for the first event on the new “Abingdon 10” CC272 course, thanks as usual to all our volunteers. Next week sees the club 10 mile championships on the Southmoor H10/17R course, first rider off at 19:31. We are still looking for a start pusher and ideally two people to help put the CTT signs out (there are 5 signs needed for this course) – please email to volunteer.

TT: Road bike points competition

Some of you may have noticed that with the start of the new club TT season we are trialling a new road bike points competition alongside the usual scratch points competition. We don’t currently have a trophy for this competition, but the club committee may choose to award one if there is sufficient interest in the competition over the course of the season.

Points will be awarded in a similar manner as for the scratch points competition, however, only people riding standard road bikes will be eligible:

In the club time trial series, points are awarded for finishing position, 5 points for first, 4 for 2nd, 3 for 3rd, 2 for 4th and 1 point for fifth. Best 14 scores to count.

Eligibility will be assessed by the start time keeper who will record on the start sheet which riders were on road bikes. Please make a note on the signing-on sheet if you think you are eligible as this will aid our bookkeeping. Criteria are the same as used for the annual non-aero/road bike TT.


  • Aero/tribars
  • Disk wheels and trispokes
  • Time trial specific aero helmets


  • Aero road helmets (i.e. would be road race legal)
  • Deep rim wheels
  • Skinsuits
  • Mudguards
  • Panniers

The current standings can be found in the club time trial results database. The results for each event will include a note of which riders were on road bikes, which will help comparison with riders on similar equipment. Thanks to Simon McGowan for the necessary updates to the database.

Antelope 3-UP TT Results

Not a bad day at the Office for DPCC in the Antelope 50km 3-up team time trial. Firstly club lady Lucy Austin, Karla Boddy (Corley cycles), Suzy Robinson (VC10) formed a composite team to win the Ladies prize! And in the mens standings, Simon Kelly, Paul Demicoli and Simon Evans, rode solidly on a mix of TT and road bikes. And finally Richard Gildea, Harri James and Martin Stanley, were just 6 minutes off 1st place (to national level riders), but did find themselves on 2nd step of the podium.

2017 - Antelope 3-UP TTT